Beckham’s New Plea To Capello

7043329

David Beckham will become a loan star again in a bid to convince manager Fabio Capello to pick him for England.

The superstar makes his MLS return for his club LA Galaxy against New York Red Bulls here today amid a storm of criticism.

England midfielder Becks was slammed in the States for his loan move to AC Milan which saw him miss the start of the MLS season.

But Beckham, 34, stood firmly by his decision last night and vowed to do the same again to keep his World Cup dream alive.

He said: “Leading up to the World Cup in South Africa next year, the England manager has made it very clear to me that I need to be playing at European level.

“I’d always regret it if I did not do everything to give myself a chance to be involved in that.”

Beckham enjoyed a successful six months under Carlo Ancelotti at Milan.

He is hopeful that he will return to the Italian club in December, despite Ancelotti now being in charge of Chelsea.

Beckham added: “Milan have said they’d love to have me back.

“I think it would have to be leading up to the World Cup.

“With the last loan, it worked out pretty well. I’m not going to sit here and say it was ideal and perfect.

“It was great for myself but it’s tough for the Galaxy and the guys when you lose any player.”

Since returning to Los Angeles Beckham has also said he would not rule out a return to the Premier League, six years after he left Manchester United.

LA Galaxy team-mate Landon Donovan slated Becks and questioned his commitment to the MLS.

Beckham, however, revealed he had received an apology from Donovan.

He said: “Landon apologised and I told him my view on things and it’s forgotten about. We’re both men.

“We don’t take it on to the field because that’s when it would disrupt us, and we go on and play our soccer. That’s the most important thing.”

The Sun

~ by footballdirecta on July 16, 2009.

Leave a comment