I’ll Be In Football Till The Day I Die – Arsene Wenger

Arsene_Wenger_775752aArsene Wenger plans to remain in football for the rest of his life.

The Arsenal boss, who is 60 on Thursday, cannot imagine retiring from the game he is obsessed with.

Wenger is in Holland as his team looks to make it three Champions League wins out of three against AZ Alkmaar.

After tonight’s clash, Wenger will be focusing on other things – although that won’t include a 60th knees-up with a giant Arsenal birthday cake and red-and-white candles.

Instead, he will spend this landmark birthday at the club’s annual meeting before treating his missus to a romantic night watching a selection of Europa League matches.

He said: “If I have health, I want to work as long as I live but adapt to my potential.

“It doesn’t always need to be physical work, it can be more intellectual. You cannot be 75 on the pitch – although Trapattoni has done well and he is 70.

“I don’t know long I will manage the team. From now on I have to assess every two years because this job is hands-on.

“I am in a job where you always look in front of you. Unfortunately, the older you get, the less distance there is in front of you but football is exciting because when you have a team like I have now.

“You know there is potential in this team and it’s down to me to get it out. Ageing is ]also a state of mind.

“People at 40 can be young physically but old mentally.

“You always have to question yourself and I believe that’s the basis of staying young in your head.

The Sun

~ by footballdirecta on October 20, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
