My Anger Was To Protect My Team – Italy Coach Marcello Lippi

lippi After Italy fans jeered the team during their match against Cyprus, coach Marcello Lippi vented his anger at them during a short interview after the game.

The national coach called the fans “crazy” and labelled their calls for other players “an absolute shame”. Indeed, he questioned, “What is wrong with these players?”

Lippi has now reneged on his words to an extent, but is still angry with the treatment of his team from the supporters in Parma on Wednesday night.

“I had a rant, maybe it was a bit strong,” Lippi told the Italian Football Federation’s official website.

“But I know my lads well, their enthusiasm, their passion, and the desire they show on the pitch – I could not keep quiet. I was angry and I vented my ire, it’s my way of protecting the team.

“Criticisms and whistles have always existed, even those who preceded me as national coach had to deal with these problems, but I believe that it’s my duty to point out certain things.

“It was natural that with 11 changes and having already secured qualification and celebrated in Dublin we would encounter problems.”

Goal

~ by footballdirecta on October 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
