I Forced Myself To Play For Portugal – Cristiano Ronaldo

460x260_Cristiano Ronaldo_200904060452 Cristiano Ronaldo has revealed that he forced himself to play in Portugal’s match against Hungary on Saturday because he wanted to help his country qualify for the World Cup finals.

The Real Madrid star suffered a knock against Olympique de Marseille ten days earlier and missed Los Merengues’ game against Sevilla, but told his international side he was ready to play.

Just 26 minutes into the victory Ronaldo suffered a recurrence of the ankle problem. He was substituted before undergoing tests that confirmed he will be out for three or four weeks.

“I felt very good, although I was not 100 per cent and had a little bit of a twinge,” he was quoted as saying by AS.

“But I wanted to play and to help my country to qualify for the World Cup.”

Despite being upset at having to miss a few weeks of action for Madrid, Ronaldo does not think that the problem will persist after the current recuperation programme.

“It is a different injury to the one that was operated on,” he added.

“I am calm because I know that with the desire I have I will recover well. With the great physios at Real Madrid everything will be fine.”

Goal

~ by footballdirecta on October 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
