Barcelona’s Andres Iniesta: I Would Play The Champions League Final Again

Iniesta

The Spanish international has insisted that he has no regrets about aggravating an injury in the European Cup final against Manchester United last May, indicating he would do it all over given the chance.

Andres Iniesta has revealed that he would play in the Champions League final again, even if it meant a repeat of the torrid summer he has had with injuries.

The Barcelona midfielder suffered a muscle tear against Villarreal on May 10, but was patched up and appeared against Manchester United in Rome only days later.

That has cost him as he suffered a setback and then picked up a further knock that kept him out of the entire pre-season campaign and the start of the league.

“It is true that I chanced my arm by playing in the Champions League final. I would do it again though and think anyone else would,” he told
Sport.

“Perhaps though, the price I paid has been a bit excessive, aggravated by other things, but I am fine now.”

Iniesta has reported for duty with the Spain squad and is raring to go as he continues his return to full fitness.

“I always want to play, but there are times when you want something and it is just not possible,” he continued.

“But now the moment has come and I am feeling good having played for 45 minutes and then another 90.

“I have taken things little-by-little and these games and training sessions are great for me to rediscover my rhythm, strength and consistency. That is what I am currently lacking.

“To be back in the Spain squad after so much time is great and another step forward for me at the start of this season.”

Goal

~ by footballdirecta on October 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
