Emmanuel Adebayor Regrets Van Persie Stamp

article-0-0668A29C000005DC-69_468x296 The catalyst for Emmanuel Adebayor’s questionable antics during Manchester City’s recent 4-2 victory over Arsenal was the acrimonious nature of his departure from the Emirates, but the striker has since admitted that he regrets his stamp on Robin van Persie in that match.

“It’s one of the things that you can’t do in football,” he reasoned in This Is London.

“It’s true that if someone did that to me it would annoy and hurt me. I regret it, for sure.”

Furthermore, in an interview with The Daily Mail, the 25-year-old revealed that he still holds Gunners manager Arsene Wenger in the highest esteem.

“He’s a gentleman. Wenger gave me the opportunity to be where I am today. He’s a coach that helped me a lot, who gave me a chance, who’s always been there for me in the bad moments.

“He called me, consoled me, gave me good advice, told me what I had to do to become a great player. I can only thank him,” the striker concluded.

Goal

~ by footballdirecta on October 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
