Dimitar Berbatov: I Failed In First Season At Manchester United

dimitar_berbatov13Manchester United striker Dimitar Berbatov has conceded that his debut season at Old Trafford was not up to standard, but that he intends to make up for it this season.

The Bulgarian admits he struggled to cope with supporters’ expectations following his £30 million move from Tottenham Hotspur, with his languid style often being interpreted as a lack of commitment. He scored only nine goals over the course of the 2008/09 campaign.

“In my first year I was disappointed in myself. I need to say that,” the striker told The Daily Mirror.

“It was a big pressure for me and maybe I failed myself. I think I wanted to prove myself to these supporters.

“You must remember, they are used to George Best, Bobby Charlton, Eric Cantona. I am just Dimitar.”

But Berbatov thinks he has improved already this season, and is looking to score more goals.

“I am more pleased with my overall game in this second season already,” he added.

“I feel that I have integrated myself better into the team. I am much stronger, much fitter. But I still wish I could score more.”

Goal

~ by footballdirecta on October 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
