Uruguay Squad Named For Ecuador & Argentina World Cup Qualifiers

Forlan The 26 players that will defend La Celeste have been decided.

Oscar Washington Tabarez, the coach of the Uruguayannational team, has announced his squad to face Ecuadorand Argentina in two crucial 2010 World Cup qualifiers next month.

Uruguay will count with all of their stars, including Diego Forlan of Atletico Madrid, Cristian Rodriguez of FC Porto, Diego Lugano of Fenerbahce and Luis Suarez of Ajax Amsterdam.

The newcomers are Maurico Victorino of Universidad de Chile, Diego Arismendi of Stoke City and Maximiliano Pereira of Benfica.

The two-time world champions still have good possibilities of reaching South Africa, but a defeat to Ecuador in Quito will eliminate them from the running.

However, if they win or draw that match a victory over Argentina in Montevideo four days later will see them qualify for their first World Cup since 2002.


~ by footballdirecta on September 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: