Liverpool’s Steven Gerrard: How The Trial Changed Me

Gerrardd2 Months after a late night incident in a Southport bar, Liverpool midfielder Steven Gerrard has publicly revealed how the trial has changed him as a person, according to The Daily Mail.

Gerrard’s biggest fear was that his reputation would be tarnished after the fracas, but judge Henry Globe said the accused was able to ‘walk away with his reputation still intact’.

“I’m the sort of player who likes to keep it clean,” said Gerrard.

“I was always very decided about the way footballers should behave. I do think it is important.

“It is not about image, or putting on an act, but I know a lot of kids look up to me, I get a lot of fan mail from them and at the time I thought I’d let them and a lot of other people down, just by being in this position.

Gerrard cannot speak about the incident due to the continued threat of legal action and is instead immersing himself in football.

“The trial changed me,” he said.

“I had to learn from it, learn from being in the wrong place at the wrong time. What hour I am out, where I go out, I will be more careful in future.

“From now on, if we win 5-1, if I score two goals and we go top of the league, I won’t try to enjoy it in a bar with my mates any more.

“I’ll go for a meal and be in my house by half past ten. We get paid very well and there have to be sacrifices.

“Throughout the trial I kept telling myself that whatever happened I would never be back in one of these rooms again. It was not a pleasant place to be, the whole experience was very frightening and intimidating.”

Gerrard recently signed a new contract with the Reds and is hoping he can steer the team to the league title.

“If I never won the league title, there would be regrets and an empty space, I admit it,” he said.

Goal

~ by footballdirecta on September 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
