Luca Toni: I Am Fit & Ready For The First Team

Luca_ToniItalian striker Luca Toni has yet to make his first league appearance for Bayern Munich this term due to an Achilles tendon problem, but the towering forward appears to be ready to return to match action for the Bavarians.

“Playing with the reserves wasn’t a problem for me. I’m a footballer, and I used to play in the third division myself. I just wanted to get playing time under my belt, and I’m back up to speed now,” Toni said on the official Bayern site.

“I’m fit and ready for the first team, in my opinion. I’m available for selection as of now, and I hope the coach calls on me soon. I want to be playing for the Bayern senior team as soon as I can.”

Toni will face stiff competition for a spot in the starting XI – Miroslav Klose, Mario Gomez, Ivica Olic and youngster Thomas Mueller have all set their sights on a starting berth this season.

Bayern Munich Website

~ by footballdirecta on September 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
