Stephen Ireland Glad To Have Turned Down Manchester United

PD*24755076 Manchester City midfielder Stephen Ireland has admitted he is glad he turned down the chance to join Manchester United as a youngster, explaining that he feels far more at home with their neighbours.

The 23-year-old had a trial with the Red Devils as a teenager but instead decided his future lay across the city with the Sky Blues.

Speaking to the Daily Mirror the influential Citizen explained his decision and how easy it had been to make.

“I didn’t know where I stood at United,” he revealed.

“I was there when I was 15, but I just didn’t like it.

“Every day there I’d be training with a different bunch of kids. I didn’t know who I was meant to be impressing, who my coaches were and I just felt all over the place.

“I only met Fergie Sir Alex Ferguson once. I said ‘hello’ to him one day so he knew straight away I was Irish. He told me he has enough Irish players with Roy Keane and Denis Irwin, so I guess that was another hint for me to hit the road.”

Yet despite the snub, Ireland freely admits he was a United fan as a boy but that he simply couldn’t see a future for himself at Old Trafford.

“I grew up supporting United so maybe my expectations were too high when I went there. But as soon as I came to City it felt right and I could see myself being where I am now,” he added.

“At United you see so many young players go out on loan, season after season, without making the first-team. I couldn’t do that. I’ve always wanted to play first-team football and thankfully I’ve managed that at City.”

Goal

~ by footballdirecta on September 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
