Didier Drogba Eyes A Century Of Chelsea Goals

Britain Soccer Champions League Chelsea striker Didier Drogba has admitted he is hoping for a place in the Stamford Bridge record books as he closes in on 100 goals for the west Londoners.

The Ivorian has already bagged 98 goals for the Blues and heads into tomorrow’s clash with Tottenham Hotspur knowing that two more would see him notch up a famous century.

“To be able to score 100 goals for Chelsea is a very big achievement. I have never done that with any of my other teams,” he told The Sun.

“It shows how settled I am here and now I want to go on and break all the club records I can.

“I am a striker and it’s really important for me to get goals and try to make history at this club.”

Drogba also insisted he was not allowing the looming personal landmark to distract him and pointed to his defensive responsibilities as proof of this.

“When I’m on the pitch I don’t think about needing two goals to be on 100 or anything like that. You cannot allow those sort of thoughts to distract you,” he explained.

“I often sacrifice myself for the good of the team. Have you ever seen any other great striker do as much defending as I do?”

The striker is expected to return to the starting XI for tomorrow’s clash with Tottenham having missed out on the midweek Champions League match against Porto due to suspension.

However, he is clearly enjoying life at Stamford Bridge and admitted he was hoping to stay at the club for years to come.

“I hope that one day we can all come back to Chelsea and get the applause from the fans. Because that would mean we have achieved something big and special,” he added.

“It would make me really proud because when I see the former Chelsea players go round the pitch I think ‘That’s because they did something special’. It makes me realise the history here at this club and it’s something I want to be a part of for many years.”

Goal

~ by footballdirecta on September 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
