Peter Kenyon Resigns As Chelsea Chief Executive

Kenyon

Chelsea announced today that chief executive Peter Kenyon is to leave his full-time role at the club.
Kenyon, who left Manchester United in 2003 to join Chelsea, will depart at the end of October but will continue to represent Chelsea in various capacities, including committee roles with Uefa.

“I intend to take a little time off before considering what I do next, but I am certain I have at least one major challenge left in me,” Kenyon said. “I have been in football for 15 years and I can say with great certainty and pleasure the experience at Chelsea is one of the best I have had. When I joined Chelsea it was an incredible challenge and together with all the staff, the players, the board and Roman Abramovich the owner, I think we have really built a club, in a relatively short space of time, that can be in the forefront of European football for many years to come. That is a major achievement.

“I am also delighted that our relationship is not ending and I can continue to make a contribution to keeping Chelsea in that position and to go back to visit friends. I intend to take a little time off before considering what I do next, but I am certain I have at least one major challenge left in me. I would like to wish Chelsea the best of luck for the rest of the season. I am sure Carlo [Ancelotti] can lead the team to more great things.”

Kenyon will leave on his own terms, but is effectively paying the price for his decision to appoint Luiz Felipe Scolari as manager last summer in preference to Abramovich’s chosen candidate, Ancelotti. The 54-year-old has been sidelined at Stamford Bridge since Scolari’s own dismissal last February, with Abramovich spearheading the recruitment of Ancelotti and sporting director Frank Arnesen taking greater control of the transfer policy.

Kenyon succeeded in increasing Chelsea’s turnover dramatically since joining the club five years ago, but will be remembered for the various controversies he courted, most notably the tapping-up of Ashley Cole four years ago and being caught dining with Rio Ferdinand shortly afterwards.

Bruce Buck, the Chelsea chairman, paid tribute to Kenyon. “Peter has done a fantastic job for Chelsea in the last five-and-a-half years and has been absolutely central to the success on and off the field we have had during that time,” Buck said. “Without his football knowledge and business acumen Chelsea would not be where we are today.

“Everyone at Chelsea thanks him for that contribution and although he will not be with us on a permanent basis he will have an important role to play as a non-executive director and in the various roles he holds in European football bodies.

“When Peter first joined us we knew we were recruiting a top executive from business generally, not just football. With that always came a certain inevitability he would eventually want to seek a new challenge and I am sure that is what he will do.

“Whatever his next permanent job we wish him the best of luck in the future. He will always be welcome back at Chelsea.”

Times

~ by footballdirecta on September 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
