Ruud Van Nistelrooy Can’t Wait For Cristiano Ronaldo Reunion At Real Madrid

Van Nestelroy The former Manchester United hitman made his appearance on the bench for Real Madrid for the first time in almost one year after suffering a knee injury last November. While Ruud van Nistelrooy didn’t come on

One of the biggest cheers that rang out from a tiny corner of Espanyol’s spanking new Cornella-El Prat stadium came from a pocketful of Real Madrid fans. Ruud van Nistelrooy had just raced off the bench to join Raul and Royston Drenthe who were already warming up on the touchline.

Since that fateful knee injury last year, Ruud is walking back into a completely different Madrid side, with Florentino Perez now at the helm at the Santiago Bernabeu boardroom.

“Wow… there have been massive changes in that time,” he tells me as though he still can’t believe what has been happening.

“And it’s not only throughout the squad but throughout the coaching staff and the management within the club. In fact, it’s a completely new club who are heading for a great direction and I hope to be an important part of that future.”

The 33-year-old Dutchman who has been plagued by knee injuries throughout an illustrious career, is clearly excited at the possibility of renewing his connection with Cristiano Ronaldo. Van Nistelrooy saw Ronaldo develop through the ranks at Old Trafford to become a star player for the Premier League champions.

“Cristiano was an important player at United and I am really looking forward to playing with him here again. But look, along with him, there are so many other great players in this squad, and I think this will be our strength, because we can put two great sides out on the field, what with all the games we have in a short season. I mean every three or four days there is a game so hopefully we can rotate and keep fresh.”

Van Nistelrooy was never in doubt that he would recover from this latest set back in his career, and feels that he is not too far away from being able to contribute to the team once again. 

“I think I need a couple of months to be fully to my best but I feel good. I made my comeback in a friendly a couple of weeks ago and have now been training with the first team for about a month. But this is the first time that I have been with the team so it’s step by step and I hope to get some minutes in the near future.

“I think that’s the important thing, to get playing again and from there on see what happens. My goal is to be an important part of this club as it was before and hopefully I can achieve that now and as I say in a couple of months I hope to be playing in the team regularly and to be in good shape again.”

The striker is particularly also looking forward to the Champions League. The Dutchman is the second highest scorer in the competition on sixty goals and can’t wait to increase that tally.

And in typical Ruud fashion, when asked if he hopes to make his Champions League appearance against Milan next month, he looked shocked.

“Why make me wait till then? No, I hope to be in the team on Tuesday when we take on Zurich,” he smiled.

“I hope to be in the team in every game we play, but that’s the thing that I need to prove.”

Goal

~ by footballdirecta on September 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
