LA Galaxy’s David Beckham May Return To Premier League

Beckham

Becks claims to have received offers from several English clubs.

David Beckham has refused to rule out a return to thePremier League, after the current Major League Soccer season concludes. The England midfielder, widely expected to return to AC Milan, admitted that he has been invited back to the Rossoneri, however stopped short of committing his future to the Italian club.  

Instead, the Los Angeles Galaxy midfielder simply stated that he had ‘plans’ and ‘options’, including offers from English clubs. 

“I have my plans. Obviously I have got options,” Beckham said, according to
Eurosport


“Milan have made me aware that they want me to go back there, play there and train there, and I’m more than happy with that. But I have got other options.

“Once I have that time to decide, I will. Three or four clubs [from England] have made offers already.”

Speculation is rife that the English clubs to have made approaches include Manchester City, Arsenal and Tottenham Hotspur.  These however, are no more than rumours and Beckham has refused to name any names.  He has, however, ruled out a reunion with former England manager Sven-Goran Eriksson at Notts County.

“Has Sven been in touch? No. I haven’t spoken to Sven for a while,” he laughed.

“I’ve got plans, but my main focus is on this game on Wednesday and then the finish of the MLS season. After that, everybody knows that I’ll be coming back to play somewhere.”

Beckham’s decision to join Milan last season was unpopular with Los Angeles fans, who questioned his commitment to the club and the MLS.  The midfielder has borne the brunt of strong abuse from angry fans in several matches this season.

However, Beckham insisted that the Galaxy owners understood that he was simply doing all he could to put himself in the best possible position to earn selection for the 2010 World Cup finals in South Africa.

“I’ve got a great relationship with the owner Tim Leiweke – and he’s a football man as well,” Beckham said. 

“They know I have to come back. If it upsets a few people, I can’t do anything about that.

“I keep saying how much I do enjoy playing over there and how committed I am to the Galaxy, but I want to give myself every chance to be involved in the [England] squad.

“I think I’ll be back there after the World Cup. There is a possibility that the contract might break in November, but I’m committed there
.”

Goal

~ by footballdirecta on September 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
