Sir Alex Ferguson Includes Owen Hargeaves In Manchester United’s Champions League Squad


The injured midfielder is named in the squad, along with the regular first-team players and also some youngsters.

Manchester United have registered 35 footballers to participate in this season’s group stage in the Champions League, which kicks-off on September 15 with a fixture against Besiktas in Istanbul.

The Red Devils, who followed up their triumph in the competition in 2008 with an appearance in the final in 2009, but were defeated by history-making Barcelona, have also been grouped with Russian Premier League side CSKA Moscow, and Bundesliga champions Wolfsburg.

A perhaps surprise inclusion is defensive screen Owen Hargreaves, who continues to nurse troubling knee problems.

The following players have been named:

Van der Sar, Foster, Kuszczak, Neville, Evra, Fabio, Rafael, O’Shea, Ferdinand, Brown, Vidic, Carrick, Fletcher, Valencia, Nani, Scholes, Park, Hargreaves, Gibson, Giggs, Obertan, Macheda, Owen, Berbatov, Rooney.

The UEFA ruling also allows players who are born on or after January 1 1989, to compete outside of the registered 25. The following players have been included:

Amos, J Evans, Cathcart, Chester, Hewson, C Evans, Anderson, Gray, Welbeck, Zieler.


~ by footballdirecta on September 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: