Adebayor: Playing Against Arsenal Will Be Like A Family At War

Wigan+Athletic+v+Arsenal+Premier+League+axumaOFhlfIl

Emmanuel Adebayor says it will be like a family at war when he lines up against Arsenal in 10 days’ time.

The striker has had a great start to his Manchester City career with a goal in each of his three league games since a £25million move from the Emirates.

It has put big-spending City in the top four already and they now face a huge match with the Gunners a week on Saturday.

Adebayor still refers to his former Arsenal team-mates Emmanuel Eboue, Gael Clichy and Alex Song as his “brothers”.

But there will be no love lost when they go head-to-head at Eastlands as City look to continue their impressive start to the season.

The Togo ace said: “I don’t think I have anything that I need to show Arsenal.

“We all know how good they are – but now I play for City so I’ll do everything to help this team now.

“It’ll be a good game and will be funny as well playing against players who I see like brothers – such as Song, Clichy and Eboue.

“Playing against them will be strange – but it is going to be good.

“I’m looking forward to it because I’m going to be up against old team-mates, ones who made me into a better player.”

Adebayor, 25, admits he owes Arsenal for giving him his chance in English football, although that will not stop him looking to shoot them down.

He added: “Those people believed in my quality when I first came to this country. To play against that club is going to be very special for me “They believed in my quality and helped put me where I am today. To play against Arsene Wenger will be something special.”

Adebayor has already become a cult figure among City fans and says their support is driving him on to greater things.

That is in stark contrast to his relationship with the Emirates faithful, which resulted in an angry outburst when he opted for a switch to City in July.

He said: “I’m very happy. It’s great to play in a team where the fans love you. When that happens, you always want to give them something back.

The Sun

~ by footballdirecta on September 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
