Gerrard Sorry After Villa Loss

UntitledSteven Gerrard has apologised for being one of Liverpool’s biggest flops in their feeble 3-1 home defeat against Aston Villa.

Gerrard made amends by hitting the 83rd-minute winner as the Reds earned a 3-2 win at Bolton.

The skipper said: “I’ve had a difficult start. I held my hands up after the Aston Villa game and said I wasn’t good enough.

“I’m man enough to do that. I needed to react to Monday’s performance and I feel I did that.

“We showed character against Bolton after going behind twice.

“All the players knew the performance was not good enough against Villa.

“It’s been a tough week. No one expected us to lose two of the opening three games.”

Gerrard found it hard to shake off Fabrice Muamba and said: “Muamba was like my shadow. I’m sure if I’d have gone to the toilet in the first half he’d have followed me!”

The Sun

~ by footballdirecta on August 31, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
