OFFICIAL: Aruna Dindane Joins Portsmouth On Season-Long Loan Deal From Lens

Aruna Dindane

Portsmouth have today added further to their forward line and signed Aruna Dindane on a season-long loan deal from French outfit RC Lens, as confirmed on the club’s official website.

The 28-year-old front man, who can play all across the front line, partners Chelsea’s Didier Drogba in attack for the Ivory Coast, and was looking forward to helping his new club find some form and climb the league table.

“I’m friends with Didier. I spoke to him on the phone and he said I was making a great choice coming to Pompey,” he said.

“They’ve been interested in me since 2003 so I’m very happy to sign. My integration will be fine because there are a lot of French-speaking players in the dressing room. That’s a big help for me.

“I’ve got pace and skill and I’m a creator as much as a goalscorer. I love a one-on-one with a defender and going past them. I feel fit and strong and I want to do well here and then help Ivory Coast do well in the World Cup next summer.

“The start of the season has been difficult but what matters is where we are at the end of the season. We’ll be fine because we’ve got good players here, some of who I’ve already played with.”

Dindane joins Pompey’s other new signings Michael Brown and Tommy Smith, as manager Paul Hart gets busy in the transfer market as the window’s closure nears.

Goal

~ by footballdirecta on August 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
