Fiorentina Defender Lorenzo De Silvestri: Lazio Exit Is Claudio Lotito’s Fault

De Silvestri

The former Lazio man has hit back at Claudio Lotito, blaming the president for forcing him out of the club.

Former Lazio defender Lorenzo De Silvestri has blamed fiery president Claudio Lotito for his exit from the club.

The Italian Under-21 international joined Fiorentina on Wednesday on a five year deal after falling out with Lotito. Reports suggested the break down in their relationship was linked over contractual issues. De Silvestri has now given his side of the story, and he is annoyed with the way the Aquilotti managed his situation.

“After nine years at Lazio it was hard to leave,” De Silvestri told the press during his official unveiling in Florence.

“I want to make it clear that I never left Lazio because of the club, but because of the president. As a result of Lotito, my will to stay there was minimal.”

“I came to Fiorentina because they wanted me from the outset and I wanted to be a part of a serious project like the one at this club.”

De Silvestri is still bitter with Lotito but tried to remain calm as he continued to share his views.

“I cannot explain everything or I risk getting into trouble,” added the defender.

“Lotito was wrong to say that I was a mercenary. I have left two months wages behind, and I hope he can donate it to charity. I will check to see if he does, and then I will let everyone know.”

Goal

~ by footballdirecta on August 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
