Lescott: I Did Nothing Wrong

lescott-new_280x390_875360aJoleon Lescott insists David Moyes was wrong to criticise him for slapping in a transfer request.

Manchester unveiled the the England defender today after agreeing an undisclosed fee with Everton.

And Lescott, who has signed a five-year deal with City, was not impressed when former boss Moyes publicly attacked his decision to move on.

He said: “I was disappointed in the comments, I feel they’re inaccurate.

“I’d like to address them at a later date and talk more positively about my move here.

“I don’t think I disrespected any of the Everton players but if I did I apologise.”

City’s bid, reportedly worth £24million, was accepted by Everton on Sunday but there was a brief delay while a minor wrangle was resolved.

Lescott was part of the Toffees team which lost 6-1 to Arsenal at Goodison Park in their Premier League opener earlier this month.

The former Wolves man was given a rough ride for his display but insists he always gave 100 per cent for the club.

He added: “I’d like to think I gave my all when I played.

“I know it wasn’t my finest game for against Arsenal but it was a collective effort.

“Obviously Arsenal were better than us on the day.”

The Sun

~ by footballdirecta on August 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
