Didier Drogba Likes Carlo Ancelotti’s ‘Christmas Tree’ Formation

Britain Soccer Champions League

The Ivorian hitman has proclaimed that he is enjoying the “Christmas Tree” formation that ‘Carletto’ has conjured.

Chelsea striker Didier Drogba has said that he is very happy with the new “Christmas Tree” formation that manager Carlo Ancelotti has devised.

The Ivory Coast international has had a good start to the season, scoring three goals in as many games for the Pensioners, the latest of which came against Fulham in the London derby.

Maybe the way we start the game is too slow and we need time to come into the game,” the 31-year-old is quoted by Sky Sports as saying.

“The opposition don’t want to lose the game so they fight. They are doing everything to defend. It’s difficult for us, but we are okay with it.

“But I’m really happy. It’s important for me that I feel fresh, and thankfully I had no injuries in pre-season. I wanted to start the same way I finished last season.”

The former Olympique de Marseille hitman believes that his performances could get even better because of the new formation employed by Ancelotti.

“I think I can still improve, and the way we started with this new system, [it] is really good for the strikers,” Drogba remarked.

“I like the ‘Christmas Tree’. I am not really alone. I have a lot of support from four to five different players.

“That’s good because it creates a lot of movement and allows me to make runs and score goals. We have more possession in midfield and so this is very good for a striker.”

The west London club have made a fine start to the season, with three wins from as many league matches.

Goal

~ by footballdirecta on August 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
